Posts Tagged ‘Google Adwords’

Google Adwords Conversion Optimizer Now Allows Target CPA Bidding

March 10, 2010
I just now noticed the following message in one of my Google Adwords accounts:
Target CPA Bidding

Target CPA Bidding

Clicking to learn more about Target CPA bidding produced the following Google Adwords help page:

With the Bid Type advanced option, you can select the method that suits you best when setting your Conversion Optimizer bids.

Max CPA
With this option, which was previously the only option offered with Conversion Optimizer, you set bids using a Max CPA. This amount represents the most you would want to pay for any individual conversion. The way a Max CPA bid works is similar to the way a maximum CPC bid works. If you set a maximum CPA bid of $5, for example, the actual average CPA is likely to be somewhat less, such as $3. Likewise, a maximum CPC bid of $0.50 may result in an average CPC of $0.30.

Target CPA
This new option allows you to bid based on the average amount you would like to pay for a conversion. For example, if you want to achieve an average CPA of $25, you could use this option and set your bid to be $25. Advertisers with CPA targets they would like to reach may prefer to use Target CPA so they can specify those goals directly.

To change your bid type to Target CPA, please follow these instructions:

  1. Select the Settings tab from within your Campaigns tab.
  2. Under the “Bidding and budget” section, click “Edit” to change your bidding option.
  3. Select the “Target CPA” option and click “Save” to finish.
Although I haven’t yet bested my own performance using Conversion Optimizer, allowing Target CPA bidding should help those Adwords Advertisers who are using it to better manage their acquisition costs.

Work Faster In Google Adwords With Browser Local Storage

February 1, 2010

I was greeted by the following announcement in my Google Adwords account today.

Work Faster In Adwords

Work Faster In Adwords

Google has built some improvements into AdWords to help their advertiser’s data load more quickly.

This new feature takes advantage of the Google Gears plugin to store a copy of an Adwords account’s data on any computer.

Google Gears

Google Gears

Each time a Google Advertiser accesses their AdWords account, data loads directly from their computer, making the Adwords experience much faster.

From Google Adwords help:

How does Browser Local Storage work?
When local storage is enabled, Adwords will store your account data on your computer the first time it loads. After that, when you change views (selecting a different campaign or ad group, for example, or sorting by a different column), your data will load directly from your computer; you no longer have to wait for the data to download from our servers.

Data will be stored on my computer — does this mean the data I see in AdWords will be outdated?

No. AdWords will make sure your data is always fresh, and retrieve the latest statistics while you work. However, as is the case in AdWords, clicks and impressions received in the last three hours may not be included in your display immediately.

Where is my data stored?

Your data is stored on your computer via Google Gears, in the same way that your browser stores cookies. Others who use your computer with different usernames won’t be able to access your data.

How do I disable local storage?

Simply click the green check mark icon next your email address in the upper right-hand corner of your browser. Next to Local account data is enabled, click the Disable link. Local storage will be disabled and all your local data will be deleted.

What happens if I use AdWords on a different computer?

You’ll need to enable local storage on each computer you use. Remember, a copy of your account data will be stored in your browser, so be aware of enabling local storage on a shared computer.

To get started using Browser Local Storage for Google Adwords, click here for instructions.

Better Ads In Gmail: Higher Adwords CTR In Gmail To Follow?

January 20, 2010

From the Gmail Team:

Ever since we launched Gmail, we’ve tried to show relevant and unobtrusive ads. We’re always trying to improve our algorithms to show better, more useful ads, and this video describes some changes …

Now, if Google could only get the ads I have targeted for display in the Gmail Funbox  to actually appear….

How I Got Here; Where Here Is…

January 18, 2010

The following is an introductory email I sent to a software company owner I met a couple days ago.

After having sent it, I realized the email summed up in a general way – how I got here and where here is (what I do).

Having been in the workforce since I was 10, I tried to just touch on the parts I believed would be of most interest to him and his business.

Dear Mr X,

I really enjoyed meeting you and talking about your career and business last night.

You are the first person I have ever met who admitted to being unemployable!

It wasn’t until I was in my mid 20s before I realized I probably wouldn’t ever be able to hold down a traditional 9 – 5 job. Getting up 4:00 AM all those years, buying and selling newspapers, dealing with customers directly and basically being my own boss at age 10 made me an entrepreneur long before I knew there was such a word.

The trick for me was finding opportunity here in Oklahoma beyond the oil and gas industry.

I experienced the oil and gas industry’s cyclicality first hand while working on an offshore drilling rig in the Gulf of Mexico (1981-1982).

After oil and gas prices plummeted in the early 80’s, I realized I no longer wanted my livelihood and opportunities tied to commodity prices.

It wasn’t until my mid 30s ((1995) that I got into the software business with one of Oklahoma’s
few software companies – Amcat.com

Oddly enough, I met the owner of Amcat while at a conference in Los Angeles. We were the only people in attendance from Oklahoma out of 500 business people from around the world.

In 1999 I won the contract to expand Amcat’s operations to Europe based on research I had done that
was confirmed by analysts from Datamonitor when we exhibited at a trade show in San Francisco.

The Datamonitor analysts confirmed the entry level Call Center market on the Continent and in the UK was untapped and thus under-served. Large 100 to 1,000 person call centers were the norm while few small to medium size business owners in Europe had yet to ever hear of or use computer telephony and predictive dialers to generate leads. The predictive dialer can double – even triple – lead production with half the telemarketing staff ( as few as four people). Business owners could pay for their new dialer with the savings from their reduced payroll expenses – and they did. Amcat’s first international office expansion became profitable within the first six months of operation.

My son Edward – who was with us last night – is a twin. His brother Phillip died in my arms on January 14, 2000.

Phillip’s unexpected death came shortly after I had completed my UK project. After his death, I vowed that I would never travel as much as I did then for business again.

I also decided I wanted to be able to run my consulting practice from anywhere in the world from the laptop computer I had used to open Amcat’s London based headquarters.

After several months of reflection, I decided the internet and search engines specifically were going to
be the wave of the future. As a consultant who only eats what he can sell, the premise and promise behind search engine technology was a dream come true – leads come in over the web instead of having to go out and get them!

As far as I was concerned, I had already done a lifetime’s worth of going door to door and pounding the pavement – I didn’t need any more practice.

Yahoo was both the internet and “search” market leader in early 2000. Not long thereafter, Yahoo started
embedding a new startup’s search technology (Google) to provide Yahoo’s audience with even better search results.

Once I discovered Google and the quality of its search results, I decided I was going to do everything in my power to understand how top of the page rankings were produced in order for me to master the search placement and positioning process. I knew with this knowledge in hand, I could then fulfill the promise of generating leads and sales over the internet for my consulting practice.

Luckily for me, Google didn’t tank!

Several years after Google came out with its advertising product – Google Adwords – they then came out with the Google Advertising Professionals credential which I earned. I was one of the first people worldwide to receive the Google Advertising Professionals designation.

I have been generating leads and sales online with Google Adwords ever since.

It wasn’t easy and didn’t come without a price, but I can now do in my sleep what use to cause me many sleeplessness nights.

What does any of this have to do with you and your business?

The web and Google / Yahoo / Bing search engines are how buyers research and shop potential vendors solutions now.

A business is either present with its message and link during a prospects search or it isn’t.

I help businesses discover where their prospects and buyers are searching and shopping for solutions
online and then I put their message links (website) there to initiate the transaction (leads or sales) process.

If you ever have an interest in gaining further insight or knowledge into how Google search works, let me know and I would be happy to talk to you and your team about it further.

Sincerely,

Tim Cohn

How To Target Ads To The Gmail Funbox In Google Adwords

December 19, 2009

Google Adwords Conversion Optimizer

December 6, 2009

Has your Google Adwords account had 30 conversions in the last 30 days?

If so, your Adwords account is eligible for Conversion Optimizer.

Campaigns Eligible For Conversion Optimizer

Campaigns Eligible For Conversion Optimizer

In the following video, Google shows how advertisers using Conversion Optimizer can achieve double digit % increases in conversions while paying the same or less for each conversion.

I have tried Conversion Optimizer several times but haven’t yet been able to beat my account’s existing transaction volume or average costs per conversion.

New: Google TV Ads Campaign Builder

November 24, 2009

The Google TV Ads blog has announced a new feature called Campaign Builder.

From Google:

What if you could have a custom TV campaign created for you in minutes that optimally reaches your target audience? We’re pleased to unveil Campaign Builder, a new Google TV Ads feature which enables advertisers to create targeted campaigns in just a few minutes.

Google TV Ads Campaign Builder

Google TV Ads Campaign Builder

How to get started with Google TV Ads Campaign Builder:

Navigate to Campaign Builder underneath the “Add Targets” tab of any TV campaign. Then specify your target audience demographics, interests, and/or Nielsen PRIZM clusters. Campaign Builder will produce a comprehensive list of dayparts and TV programs that reach your specified audience in the highest concentrations. What’s more, the tool will automatically set strategic bids to increase your likelihood of winning optimal targets and spending your budget. After that, one click is all it takes to port the selected targets and bids into a newly created campaign that can begin running immediately.

Google offers two different tools for creating TV ads either a self-service tool called SpotMixer or they will help find a vendor to create an ad for you.

Watch this video “How To Create A TV Ad” to learn more about creating TV ads in the new Google Adwords Interface:

Google Advertising Professionals Search

November 22, 2009

Preparing to take my Google Advertising Professionals exam, I have had to spend a lot of time poking around in the Google Advertising Professionals section of Google Adwords.

From within the Pro Center in my Google Adwords Client Center, I discovered Google Professionals Search.

According to Google Adverting Professionals Search:

Google Professionals Search is a way to find a list of agencies that are Google Advertising Professionals. Advertisers might use it to look for agencies to help them manage their AdWords campaigns, or they may be just starting out and looking for help getting started.

One of the drivers for agencies or consultants to become qualified and badged is to support their new business activity. Many agencies and Google Advertising Professionals have asked for additional visibility of their certified status, so we’re adding another way for advertisers to find our agency partners.

We’ll direct advertisers looking for help through information in help centers and other appropriate places.

To be included, you’ll need to opt in to the Professionals Search; you won’t be included without your express permission. If you opt in, we’ll ask you to provide additional information to match you with advertisers you’re willing to help. We’ll ask you to choose a minimum budget range you’re willing to work with, the type of services you offer, as well as provide your website and company name so interested advertisers can contact you. Note, if you opt in, but don’t provide this information, you will not show up for any searches (since parameters will not be set). We think this helps match suitable professionals, and we’ll test and refine as we learn more about the success of the Professionals Search.

Search For Google Advertising Professionals

Search For Google Advertising Professionals

I am not sure whether Google Advertising Professionals Search is a new or old feature in Google Adwords, but the search function isn’t enabled or active.

Google Advertising Professionals Search 404

Google Advertising Professionals Search 404

Google Advertising Professionals Help

November 20, 2009

I am in the process of renewing my Google Advertising Professional certification and have found several inconsistencies between the previous Adwords interface and the new one.

A lot of the links don’t work.

For example, clicking on the Google Advertising Professionals Help link from within My Client Center produces the following “Page not available” message.

Google Advertising Professionals Help

Google Advertising Professionals Help

Marketing And Advertising One Plus Box Listings Pared From Google Local Search Results

November 19, 2009

Although I haven’t ever generated an online or offline transaction from my own firm’s Google Local Business Center listing, I have closely monitored my listing and its appearance or lack thereof in Google search results since business listings were first introduced.

Over time, the type of results have changed from lists of ten to as few as one result for specific business or category localized search queries.

I have also watched Google’s Local Business Center product evolve to its present version which includes rudimentary search traffic stats.

Because of the nature of my firm’s listing categories (advertising and marketing), generating a search referred transaction isn’t expected.

However, many small businesses have come to rely on the referrals Google local search listings provide.

Fortunately I haven’t relied on Google’s free local search referrals for generating new business; because if I had, my business would have since dried up with the recent changes impacting what appears to have only occurred in geo-modified advertising and marketing search results.

Prior to the recent paring of local advertising and marketing results, firms like mine could count on their local business listing being displayed for queries in their respective markets.

A generic web search query for marketing + city used to produce the following type of results.

Marketing

Marketing

A generic web search query for marketing consultant + city used to produce the following type of results.

Marketing Consultant

Marketing Consultant

In both instances and because of my firm’s listing presence, Google saw fit to publish my company’s details for these types of queries.

Once my Local Business Center listing even appeared inexplicably atop a Google Maps search for “marketing consultants”.

Google Maps Search Marketing Consultants

Google Maps Search Marketing Consultants

However, today the same search query for marketing + city produces the following results sans One Plus Box or any other type of previously seen types of multiple listing results.

Marketing Oklahoma City

Marketing Oklahoma City

The same holds true for a search for marketing consultant + city. No One Plus Box results or any type of multiple listing results.

Marketing Consultants Oklahoma City

Marketing Consultants Oklahoma City

Nor does my listing still appear atop a Google Maps search for marketing consultants. My listing shouldn’t have probably been there to begin with but its unclear to me as to why any of results that do appear for this particular search appear as they do.

Marketing Consultants Google Map Search

Marketing Consultants Google Map Search

Historically when these types of changes have appeared in search results, the new results types were evenly distributed across all business categories.

I am not so sure that is the case this time.

It looks like the advertising and marketing categories are the sole beneficiaries of these new types of category search results.

A quick search for other categories still produces any one of the previously identified One Plus Box results types.

A search for a local Doctor’s listing still produces his Google Local Business Center listing data.

Dr Local Web Search

Dr Local Web Search

A search for “Luxury Apartments Dallas” produces the recently discovered seven local results format.

Luxury Apartments Dallas

Luxury Apartments Dallas

However, a local search for my business name and city no longer produces a Google Local Business Center result like the the Doctor’s listing above.

Instead it produces a traditional search engine results page.

Google Web Search Advanced Marketing Consultants NIchols HIlls, OK

Google Web Search Advanced Marketing Consultants NIchols HIlls, OK

Although my local business center listings information still appears in a specific business name search in Google Maps, the One Box type result for my categories appears to be totally gone.

Google Maps Advanced Marketing Consultants Nichols HIlls, OK

Google Maps Advanced Marketing Consultants Nichols HIlls, OK

To confirm my experience isn’t unique, I ran several search queries in other markets for the same generic terms and produced the same type of results.

A search for “Advertising Agency New York” produces the same type of results as those identified above – no One Box or any type of multiple listings.

Advertising Agency New York Web Search

Advertising Agency New York Web Search

Yet a search for “marketing + city” produces a buggy list of non marketing related business listings ( (must be the data center).

Marketing New York

Marketing New York

I have seen these type of results before where similar nonsensical business listings appear in search categories unrelated to their primary business. Could these types of results been a catalyst for these recent category results changes?

However, a search for “marketing consultants new york city” produced the same type of search engine results pages mentioned initially.

Marketing Consultants New York City

Marketing Consultants New York City

Are these new search engine results pages for advertising and marketing related category + location specific search results by design and the new norm or are these new results the by-product of a bug?

If these results are indeed the new norm for the advertising and marketing industries, agencies and marketers alike may need to get acquainted with Google’s advertising product – Google Adwords – if they want their businesses to have a higher level of visibility in both Google search engine results pages and Google Maps.