DoubleClick Ad Planner Overview

March 18, 2010

This overview of Google Ad Planner shows how it can help marketers find and target their audiences online.

For more information about Google Ad Planner visit http://www.google.com/adplanner.

Add A Location To Your Tweets – No Thanks

March 17, 2010

I declined to add my location to my Tweets by clicking – No thanks.

Twitter Turn On Location

Twitter Turn On Location

My question is – will I continue to be presented with a pop-up box every time I log on to Twitter via the web after now having “opted” not to provide my location?

Proof Social Media Doesn’t Work: Analysts Reporting It Does

March 16, 2010

When Analysts report a product works instead of the subject (social media) of the report’s users / customers confirming it works – beware!

Social Hype

Social Hype

Dear Social Media Analysts – please put me on your lists for more studies like these!

.Co Domain Registration

March 15, 2010

I received the following email from Godaddy today.

CO Domains

CO Domains

The argument for .Co domains according to Godaddy.

Why Choose .CO?

•    .CO is meaningful, memorable and intuitive for people around the world
•    .CO is relevant to individuals, domainers, businesses and organizations
•    .CO gives businesses and brands the chance to create a worldwide footprint
•    .CO appeals to today’s socially-networked individuals and entrepreneurs

I wonder what percentage of type-in / direct navigation traffic is truncated omitting the m from .com?

Whatever that number is – it seems like that number alone would be compelling enough to justify investing in .Co domains for both offensive and defensive purposes.

I’m Feewing Wucky

March 14, 2010

Even though I have been logging into my Google accounts with my American and English account names and passwords, Google assumes that because of the location where I am accessing their datacenters from is located also must mean I want to view my account in that particular country’s language.

Nope – not so.

It took me awhile to figure out how to get my account and Google search results to display in English again.

I'm Feewing Wucky

I'm Feewing Wucky

While trying to figure out how to get my account to display in English again, I discovered Google offers translation services in many languages even the obscure Elmer Fudd English dialect.

After several days of being disconnected, understanding Elmer Fudd comes quite naturally.

Marketing Budget Changes: Where’s Social Media’s ROI?

March 13, 2010

More from eMarketer about Marketing Budget allocation shifts:

…even though marketers are on board with the idea that social is key to their overall strategy, many are sick of hearing about it. In addition to being one of the most important buzzwords, social media was considered the most annoying, with nearly 30% of executives tired of it. Twitter, specifically, got on the nerves of nearly 15% of respondents, and social networking rounded out the top three trends marketers were most tired of hearing about.

Regardless, social spending will increase. A separate survey of US marketing execs by Ad-ology indicated social tactics were the most likely to increase in 2010.

Marketing Budgets

Marketing Budgets

Surely executives growing tired of hearing about social media, social networking and the Twitter brand specifically doesn’t bode well for the nascent space or the Twitter brand’s monetization potential.

How can social media reconcile itself with the fact that marketing executives’ chief concern is Marketing ROI while social media and social networking have yet been able to deliver consistent measurable ROI to marketers?

I wonder how many executives have grown tired of hearing about Google and search engine marketing results?

Marketing ROI: Getting Marketers Attention

March 12, 2010

From eMarketer:

US marketing executives were much more optimistic about the economic outlook in February 2010 than they were the year before, when the recession was in full swing, and many were planning to increase budgets, according to the “Marketing Trends Report 2010” from Anderson Analytics and the Marketing Executives Networking Group (MENG). But they have become even more focused on getting a good return on their marketing investments.

Anderson and MENG found that “marketing ROI” had jumped to become the most important trend to marketing executives. Social media cracked the top 10 this year, when 72% of respondents were planning a social strategy. The two concepts were also key when combined: Social media ROI was an important buzzword for 36% of executives.

Marketing ROI

Marketing ROI

If you sell to marketers, embedding Marketing ROI in your argument is guaranteed to get their attention.

Microsoft adCenter Desktop Beta

March 11, 2010

I received the following email today regarding the recent upgrades to the Microsoft adCenter Desktop.

Microsoft Adcenter Desktop

Microsoft Adcenter Desktop

Microsoft says its recent improvements to the adCenter Desktop make it faster and easier to make bulk changes to adCenter accounts.

The latest version of Microsoft adCenter Desktop  includes:

  • A clearer, easier-to-understand user interface.
  • Faster campaign importing from other search engines.
  • Targeting via importing and exporting

I haven’t yet had an opportunity to try out their latest advertising account management tool in my Microsoft accounts.

Microsoft adCenter Desktop Beta

Microsoft adCenter Desktop Beta

Whether or not these recent account management improvements will make managing search advertising accounts in a Bing driven Yahoo search environment remains to be seen.

Google Adwords Conversion Optimizer Now Allows Target CPA Bidding

March 10, 2010
I just now noticed the following message in one of my Google Adwords accounts:
Target CPA Bidding

Target CPA Bidding

Clicking to learn more about Target CPA bidding produced the following Google Adwords help page:

With the Bid Type advanced option, you can select the method that suits you best when setting your Conversion Optimizer bids.

Max CPA
With this option, which was previously the only option offered with Conversion Optimizer, you set bids using a Max CPA. This amount represents the most you would want to pay for any individual conversion. The way a Max CPA bid works is similar to the way a maximum CPC bid works. If you set a maximum CPA bid of $5, for example, the actual average CPA is likely to be somewhat less, such as $3. Likewise, a maximum CPC bid of $0.50 may result in an average CPC of $0.30.

Target CPA
This new option allows you to bid based on the average amount you would like to pay for a conversion. For example, if you want to achieve an average CPA of $25, you could use this option and set your bid to be $25. Advertisers with CPA targets they would like to reach may prefer to use Target CPA so they can specify those goals directly.

To change your bid type to Target CPA, please follow these instructions:

  1. Select the Settings tab from within your Campaigns tab.
  2. Under the “Bidding and budget” section, click “Edit” to change your bidding option.
  3. Select the “Target CPA” option and click “Save” to finish.
Although I haven’t yet bested my own performance using Conversion Optimizer, allowing Target CPA bidding should help those Adwords Advertisers who are using it to better manage their acquisition costs.

SearchMarketingCommunications.com Alexa Ranking

March 9, 2010

It has been a long time since I looked at amy site’s Alexa ranking.

I was pleasantly surprised to find Alexa has come along way in making their data more attractive and user friendly.

SearchMarketingCommunications.com

SearchMarketingCommunications.com

One new addition since the last time I visited  Alexa is their Upstream and Downstream Sites visited data.

Upstream Downstream Sites

Upstream Downstream Sites

As you can tell from the data snapshot above, this site was born to be searched.