Google Adwords allows advertisers to have total control over their advertising costs.
Follow these simple tips to make the most of an advertising budget.
Google Adwords allows advertisers to have total control over their advertising costs.
Follow these simple tips to make the most of an advertising budget.
With the Bid Type advanced option, you can select the method that suits you best when setting your Conversion Optimizer bids.
Max CPA
With this option, which was previously the only option offered with Conversion Optimizer, you set bids using a Max CPA. This amount represents the most you would want to pay for any individual conversion. The way a Max CPA bid works is similar to the way a maximum CPC bid works. If you set a maximum CPA bid of $5, for example, the actual average CPA is likely to be somewhat less, such as $3. Likewise, a maximum CPC bid of $0.50 may result in an average CPC of $0.30.Target CPA
This new option allows you to bid based on the average amount you would like to pay for a conversion. For example, if you want to achieve an average CPA of $25, you could use this option and set your bid to be $25. Advertisers with CPA targets they would like to reach may prefer to use Target CPA so they can specify those goals directly.
To change your bid type to Target CPA, please follow these instructions:
- Select the Settings tab from within your Campaigns tab.
- Under the “Bidding and budget” section, click “Edit” to change your bidding option.
- Select the “Target CPA” option and click “Save” to finish.
I was greeted by the following announcement in my Google Adwords account today.
Google has built some improvements into AdWords to help their advertiser’s data load more quickly.
This new feature takes advantage of the Google Gears plugin to store a copy of an Adwords account’s data on any computer.
Each time a Google Advertiser accesses their AdWords account, data loads directly from their computer, making the Adwords experience much faster.
From Google Adwords help:
How does Browser Local Storage work?
When local storage is enabled, Adwords will store your account data on your computer the first time it loads. After that, when you change views (selecting a different campaign or ad group, for example, or sorting by a different column), your data will load directly from your computer; you no longer have to wait for the data to download from our servers.
Data will be stored on my computer — does this mean the data I see in AdWords will be outdated?No. AdWords will make sure your data is always fresh, and retrieve the latest statistics while you work. However, as is the case in AdWords, clicks and impressions received in the last three hours may not be included in your display immediately.
Where is my data stored?
Your data is stored on your computer via Google Gears, in the same way that your browser stores cookies. Others who use your computer with different usernames won’t be able to access your data.
How do I disable local storage?
Simply click the green check mark icon next your email address in the upper right-hand corner of your browser. Next to Local account data is enabled, click the Disable link. Local storage will be disabled and all your local data will be deleted.
What happens if I use AdWords on a different computer?You’ll need to enable local storage on each computer you use. Remember, a copy of your account data will be stored in your browser, so be aware of enabling local storage on a shared computer.
To get started using Browser Local Storage for Google Adwords, click here for instructions.
From the Gmail Team:
Ever since we launched Gmail, we’ve tried to show relevant and unobtrusive ads. We’re always trying to improve our algorithms to show better, more useful ads, and this video describes some changes …
Now, if Google could only get the ads I have targeted for display in the Gmail Funbox to actually appear….
The following is an introductory email I sent to a software company owner I met a couple days ago.
After having sent it, I realized the email summed up in a general way – how I got here and where here is (what I do).
Having been in the workforce since I was 10, I tried to just touch on the parts I believed would be of most interest to him and his business.
Dear Mr X,
I really enjoyed meeting you and talking about your career and business last night.
You are the first person I have ever met who admitted to being unemployable!
It wasn’t until I was in my mid 20s before I realized I probably wouldn’t ever be able to hold down a traditional 9 – 5 job. Getting up 4:00 AM all those years, buying and selling newspapers, dealing with customers directly and basically being my own boss at age 10 made me an entrepreneur long before I knew there was such a word.
The trick for me was finding opportunity here in Oklahoma beyond the oil and gas industry.
I experienced the oil and gas industry’s cyclicality first hand while working on an offshore drilling rig in the Gulf of Mexico (1981-1982).
After oil and gas prices plummeted in the early 80’s, I realized I no longer wanted my livelihood and opportunities tied to commodity prices.
It wasn’t until my mid 30s ((1995) that I got into the software business with one of Oklahoma’s
few software companies – Amcat.com
Oddly enough, I met the owner of Amcat while at a conference in Los Angeles. We were the only people in attendance from Oklahoma out of 500 business people from around the world.
In 1999 I won the contract to expand Amcat’s operations to Europe based on research I had done that
was confirmed by analysts from Datamonitor when we exhibited at a trade show in San Francisco.
The Datamonitor analysts confirmed the entry level Call Center market on the Continent and in the UK was untapped and thus under-served. Large 100 to 1,000 person call centers were the norm while few small to medium size business owners in Europe had yet to ever hear of or use computer telephony and predictive dialers to generate leads. The predictive dialer can double – even triple – lead production with half the telemarketing staff ( as few as four people). Business owners could pay for their new dialer with the savings from their reduced payroll expenses – and they did. Amcat’s first international office expansion became profitable within the first six months of operation.
My son Edward – who was with us last night – is a twin. His brother Phillip died in my arms on January 14, 2000.
Phillip’s unexpected death came shortly after I had completed my UK project. After his death, I vowed that I would never travel as much as I did then for business again.
I also decided I wanted to be able to run my consulting practice from anywhere in the world from the laptop computer I had used to open Amcat’s London based headquarters.
After several months of reflection, I decided the internet and search engines specifically were going to
be the wave of the future. As a consultant who only eats what he can sell, the premise and promise behind search engine technology was a dream come true – leads come in over the web instead of having to go out and get them!
As far as I was concerned, I had already done a lifetime’s worth of going door to door and pounding the pavement – I didn’t need any more practice.
Yahoo was both the internet and “search” market leader in early 2000. Not long thereafter, Yahoo started
embedding a new startup’s search technology (Google) to provide Yahoo’s audience with even better search results.
Once I discovered Google and the quality of its search results, I decided I was going to do everything in my power to understand how top of the page rankings were produced in order for me to master the search placement and positioning process. I knew with this knowledge in hand, I could then fulfill the promise of generating leads and sales over the internet for my consulting practice.
Luckily for me, Google didn’t tank!
Several years after Google came out with its advertising product – Google Adwords – they then came out with the Google Advertising Professionals credential which I earned. I was one of the first people worldwide to receive the Google Advertising Professionals designation.
I have been generating leads and sales online with Google Adwords ever since.
It wasn’t easy and didn’t come without a price, but I can now do in my sleep what use to cause me many sleeplessness nights.
What does any of this have to do with you and your business?
The web and Google / Yahoo / Bing search engines are how buyers research and shop potential vendors solutions now.
A business is either present with its message and link during a prospects search or it isn’t.
I help businesses discover where their prospects and buyers are searching and shopping for solutions
online and then I put their message links (website) there to initiate the transaction (leads or sales) process.
If you ever have an interest in gaining further insight or knowledge into how Google search works, let me know and I would be happy to talk to you and your team about it further.
Sincerely,
Tim Cohn
Has your Google Adwords account had 30 conversions in the last 30 days?
If so, your Adwords account is eligible for Conversion Optimizer.
In the following video, Google shows how advertisers using Conversion Optimizer can achieve double digit % increases in conversions while paying the same or less for each conversion.
I have tried Conversion Optimizer several times but haven’t yet been able to beat my account’s existing transaction volume or average costs per conversion.
The Google TV Ads blog has announced a new feature called Campaign Builder.
From Google:
What if you could have a custom TV campaign created for you in minutes that optimally reaches your target audience? We’re pleased to unveil Campaign Builder, a new Google TV Ads feature which enables advertisers to create targeted campaigns in just a few minutes.
How to get started with Google TV Ads Campaign Builder:
Navigate to Campaign Builder underneath the “Add Targets” tab of any TV campaign. Then specify your target audience demographics, interests, and/or Nielsen PRIZM clusters. Campaign Builder will produce a comprehensive list of dayparts and TV programs that reach your specified audience in the highest concentrations. What’s more, the tool will automatically set strategic bids to increase your likelihood of winning optimal targets and spending your budget. After that, one click is all it takes to port the selected targets and bids into a newly created campaign that can begin running immediately.
Google offers two different tools for creating TV ads either a self-service tool called SpotMixer or they will help find a vendor to create an ad for you.
Watch this video “How To Create A TV Ad” to learn more about creating TV ads in the new Google Adwords Interface:
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